JR Books Feature: The Sand Dweller by Molly Neely

I am over the moon about today’s featured Author, Molly Neely. This is a woman who knows hard work, who does not back down and this is evident in her debut novel, The Sand Dweller. As artists, our work is often a reflection of who we are as a person. The inspiration needed to produce such said work very often stems from our own likes and dislikes, our beliefs and emotions, those we manage and can’t manage very well as yet. It is a battle that often starts small and turns out into a full blown war within ourselves to produce something that is honest and real. The Sand Dweller is no exception here. Molly took something that could have been just ordinary and turned it into a book filled with hidden truths to which I believe everyone can relate. She took the war on the outside and placed it on paper giving her characters life and choices showing that even those who dwell in the light can struggle with the consequences of a turbulent past.I believe this is a book that everyone should read if supernatural thrillers are your thing. I for sure can’t wait to do the same.

pic

More about, The Sand Dweller: 

In the ancient mountains of the Sinai desert, a child is born. The half-demon son of the devil’s greatest general, Malachi grows up with one foot in the human world and one in the darkest pits of Hell itself. Soon, a power struggle will force him to choose. Will he claim the dark heritage promised to him by Lucifer? Or, will he learn firsthand hand, just how far evil will go to destroy mankind?

Caleb Glass is a young priest with a flourishing flock and a successful church. Plagued by strange visions and a tragic past, he’s also beginning to question his faith. When he’s suddenly thrust into an ancient feud, Caleb must decide whether wearing the collar is a part of God’s plan or an excuse to hide from his pain.

Is it possible for a broken priest and a sand dweller to achieve redemption, or are they both doomed by circumstance beyond their control?

We all understand what it feels like to be pulled in different directions. It’s easy to become confused about who and what we should be swearing our allegiance to. Many times, our common sense and our emotions lock horns, with us right in the middle of the battle. The Sand Dweller is a paranormal thriller that not only showcases that battle but highlights the value of patience, sacrifice, and determination. To nail home the theme of perseverance, the author’s main protagonist is an immortal. As an ageless character, Malachi shows us that no matter how old we get, or how long we have to wait, we can always benefit from a lesson in patience.

As always I had a few questions to ask, I always love these answers because they are not planned or already written out for just in case someone might ask them. But first, meet Molly.

Molly Neely is a life long reader of everything from history and theology, to politics and vampires. Her debut novel, The Sand Dweller was published by Black Opal Books. ShFB_IMG_1490196674463_1e has a wide range of tastes including classic films and pretty much anything with bacon in it. When she’s not putting in a forty hour work week with the number one retailer in the world, Molly is reading, writing, taking in a Jean Harlow movie, or preparing for the impending zombie apocalypse. She lives in the heart of the San Joaquin Valley, Fresno California, with her husband, Lyle and their Whippet, Devo.

 

My Questions:

Where did the idea for The Sand Dweller originate from?

Originally I had intended to write a vampire novel. The Twilight books were popular at the time, and I got it in my head that I too could write an original vampire story. My goal had been to write something true to the oldest folklore pertaining to blood suckers. As I dug deeper into my research, however, I kept getting drawn to stories about demons. Being someone who has a deep faith, I found myself more interested in those stories. Out of that… came The Sand Dweller. Which, looking back was a good thing. By the time my book was published, vampires were no longer popular.

Your book talks a lot about patience, sacrifice, and determination. Were these qualities you needed a lot of while you were writing this book and how do they apply in your everyday life?

I didn’t realize it at the time, but in a lot of ways, my main character Malachi and I are incredibly similar when it comes to patience. I struggle with being patient, I tend to rush things. I really do believe God was using my novel to teach me how to be patient. The process of getting a book published is long and sometimes tedious. I definitely learned how to wait. My life is filled with sacrifice and determination. Being a devout Christian, I have been taught their value through the words of Jesus and the writings of the Apostles. Given the themes of my novel, sacrifice and determination couldn’t help but be a significant factor in the storyline.

What does creativity mean to you?

One of the things that so completely separates humans from every other living beast is creativity. Nowhere but in humans do we see the ability to express thoughts and feelings through artwork? Whether it’s a painting, a sculpture, a piece of music or a novel, humans alone have the skill of creating beauty for beauty’s sake. For me, it’s just another confirmation that we have been created in our creator’s image. How else could we possibly explain why we constantly seek artistic expression?

If you could give any new writers out there a small piece of advice, what would it be?

I say never stop writing. Get actively involved in writers groups, conferences, book festivals and writing classes. Seek out other writers and learn from them! The writer’s community is so supportive, so positive … you can’t ask for better friends. Most of all, be patient. Being an author is a time-consuming prospect, but the rewards are worth it.

What can we expect from you next?

I have a couple of things in the queue right now. A physiological thriller that I am trying to finish editing. I’m also mapping out plans for a sequel for The Sand Dweller. As if that’s not enough, I’m also writing a children’s book with my sister and have started a screenplay with a friend I work with. So, I’m not going to be getting any sleep for a while! Ha ha! But, it’s all worth it. When you can no longer find the book you want to read, it’s time to sit down and write it.

I hope that you have found this Wednesday feature as awesome as I did doing it and that you will go out and get yourself a copy of this #mustread book.

Buy your copy on Amazon and as always if you liked it be kind and leave a review. A simple star rating will do. Alternatively, if you have issues with leaving your review you can also connect with Molly on social media and leave your review there.

On Facebook:  m.Facebook.com/mollyneelywriter

On Twitter:  @mollyneely 

Website: http://mollyneelyauthorpage.simdif.com/

Publisher: Check out Molly’s Bio @  www.BlackOpalBooks.com

That is all for today,

JR out!

Leave a Reply

