The (R) Factor

Another week has gone and once again the weekend is lying at my door. I welcome it with open arms but I fear for my work is far from done. With hubby potentially pulling a weekend work session, I find myself torn between relaxing and working. This morning was the first morning in a while that I had to drag myself out of bed again feeling like I did everything but sleep the night before.

I wonder at times if there are other writers out there that sit at the keyboard typing away only to discover that their goal of 5000 words ended up only being 1000, four hours later. Sometimes when it happens the words flow quickly, other times one paragraph could easily take me an hour to get right, and I’m not even talking about the editing phase here. Lately, it feels like there just isn’t enough time in one day to get everything done but I suppose maybe I am trying to push the creative process here.

Everyone has stress, some larger than others and yes, we all do get tired at some point. I for one hate that feeling in the morning when everything shouts at me to go back to bed. It doesn’t happen often but when it does the pain and frustration is real. I’m like an angry toddler moaning about going back to bed while I can barely keep my eyes open. It is quite funny to witness.

download

I guess weekends do come around for a reason and if we ignore that reason for too long we are bound to smell smoke and realize that we the ones on fire. What happens after when the fire is extinguished is the burnout phase, the phase when you really can do nothing but sleep, sleep, repeat.Only days after do you consider yourself useful to humanity again and for some, it’s a setback they can’t afford.

It will take more than a simple post to convince me because everything I said I am aware of, I have experienced the burn-out phase numerous times but then I am human and stubborn like so many others I know.

So for now, “Weekend I welcome you. Take a seat, put your feet up and make yourself at home, I will be right with you.”

Mic drop, exit left,

JR

Leave a Reply

