JR Books Feature Wednesday: Sedahlia by Cynthia D. Toliver

 

I have been struggling for quite some time to get this book feature done and it is not because I could not work with what I was given, it simply needed to happen spontaneously and on its own very much like love does at times. This is one of those remarkable stories that does not just stick to love but also rips your heart out a few times through its 464-page journey. It does not pretend to be something it is not, it is harsh and deals with brutal issues of a time in history in which a country was at war with itself, when it asked itself all the right questions but had none of the correct answers. It is a love story, a story of struggle and a story that inspires all the way through proving the value which lies in family and the bonds we share. I do have to mention that this book does contain scenes that some might find disturbing or upsetting and I have seen this through reviews left by some who have read this book. Don’t let this stop you, because as the saying goes the truth hurts, history hurts and that is what I love about Cynthia, she keeps it real, no pretending, just the harsh reality of a time in history that till today pulls at the heartstrings.

So if you have not watched the trailer and haven’t guessed by now, What is Sedahlia about? 

Sedahlia explores the human cords that bind and the racial lines that divide two families, the Masters and the Lindseys. After fleeing post-Civil War Georgia, John Masters, Sr., his wife Virginia Masters, and their rebellious servant Jessie Lindsey have built new lives in Texas ranch country.  Now their offspring, Johnny Masters and Rachel Lindsey, are in love.  On the isolated, sprawling Sedahlia ranch, their youthful dalliances are largely overlooked until Rachel becomes pregnant, forcing Rachel to leave Texas for a freedman’s school in Georgia.

From the insulated Sedahlia ranch to the Jim Crow south, the rails both separate and unite – parting lovers, reuniting family, pushing out the old, bringing in the new.  It is in these settings that three generations of the Masters and Lindseys live and love, and their personal needs and mores clash with society.  The repercussions rumble through this family and the surrounding community, tearing them asunder and bringing them together as only love and tragedy will.

As I mentioned before it took me a while to get this post done, technical issues included but I am not disappointed that it did. I intend to do a proper review of this book once I have read it properly, it is one of those I want to take my time with. Although I am not a fan of historical fiction I am a fan a perseverance and I can see the hard work that went into writing it. There was a battle that took place when this book was written, one on the inside and also on the outside, it is clear in the results alone that the work was not for nothing. The reviews speak for themselves.

Well moving along swiftly, after firing my assistant for her complete lack of admin skills I asked Cynthia a few questions to find out more about her and her work.

1.Where does your passion for writing come from? 

My passion for writing and reading stem from the urge to escape to imaginary worlds. When I am not preoccupied with the real world and sometimes when I should be, stories just seem to populate my mind. I have entertained these musings from my youth, some forever lost to the universe, others captured in journals or hastily jotted down on post-its, notepads, loose leaves, napkins, receipts, whatever is convenient. Writing enables me to share my musings with like-minded souls.

2.What are some of your hobbies and other passions in life?

I love quiet things – books, ballads, leisurely walks, parks, beaches, basking in sunlight, nature. My idea of a vacation is to see the world as God sculpted it, preferring a trip to Big Bend National Park to an evening in New Orleans’ famed French Quarter. My analytical side loves problem-solving hence the forays in engineering and mathematics.

3. Your inspiration?

My inspirations come from multiple sources. Sometimes it is a word or title. Other times it may be a thought, observation or dream. From that seed, I will develop my characters and write an outline. I’m not tied to that outline, but it gives me a place to start.

The seed for Sedahlia was a dream about disparate lovers. Their story sprouted and grew to the family saga it is today.

I love the creative process, from beginning to end. My books are very much character driven. As a writer, I become invested in the characters and their stories. If I’ve crafted them well, my readers will do the same.

If you want to know more about Cynthia D. Toliver then visit her Amazon Page or Website where you can follow her for updates on future releases. For those who likes books more than the trees from which they are made you can visit Cynthia on Face-Book or visit her home away from home on Blogger by clicking the >>> Blog

You can purchase Sedalia on Amazon US or Amazon UK . Simply follow the links. If you do purchase a copy please be kind and leave a review, we rely on feedback from our readers to better our own craft just like my assistant relied on me to tell her she can’t send emails.

 

That is a wrap for this week’s book post. While I go off looking for a new assistant you better click that buy now button and start reading. I would absolutely love your feedback on this book.

A Massive Thankyou to Cynthia D. Toliver and I wish you all the success in the world.

If you want your work featured here for free then please use the contact section in the navigation bar. You can also inbox me on Facebook or if you really prefer to make like a bird and tweet.

To freedom and love,

JR

PS: No assistants were fired during the course of writing this feature. No vacancy

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “JR Books Feature Wednesday: Sedahlia by Cynthia D. Toliver

  1. Cynthia Toliver says:

    Thanks so much, JR. I don’t know how you “got it” but you did. This book was years in the making. Cynthia D. Toliver

    From: JR-BOOKS-AND-BLOG To: c_d_toliver@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, February 7, 2017 11:01 PM Subject: [New post] JR Books Feature Wednesday: Sedahlia by Cynthia D. Toliver #yiv5543916567 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5543916567 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5543916567 a.yiv5543916567primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5543916567 a.yiv5543916567primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5543916567 a.yiv5543916567primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5543916567 a.yiv5543916567primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5543916567 WordPress.com | jrbooksblog posted: ” I have been struggling for quite some time to get this book feature done and it is not because I could not work with what I was given, it simply needed to happen spontaneously and on its own very much like love does at times. This is one of thos” | |

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

